

RAMONA COMMUNITY PLANNING GROUP

15873 HWY 67, RAMONA, CALIFORNIA 92065 Phone: (760)445-8545

Robin Joy Maxson Chair

January 19, 2023

Torry Brean Vice-Chair

Nora Vargas, Chair SANDAG Board of Directors 401 B Street, Suite 800 San Diego, CA 92101

Kristi Mansolf Secretary

Dear Chair Vargas,

Janelle Clark

SANDAG's Board is composed of representatives from each of the region's 19 local governments and additionally empowers and recognizes the contributions and needs of advisory representation.

Jonas Dyer Debra Foster

Holly Hamilton-Bleakley These members hold unchecked and unequal power over the planning and funding of the unincorporated communities without providing a balanced voice for a population of approximately 500,000 residents - which comprises the second largest community in the County.

Casey Lynch

The unincorporated communities cannot lead nor effectively participate in their own future without a seat at this table of regional power.

Dawn Perfect

Matt Rains

Michelle Rains

Lauren Schulte

Andrew Simmons

Paul Stykel

Dan Summers

Currently, two San Diego County Supervisors represent County interests on the SANDAG Board. In theory this is where the unincorporated communities find their representation; however, County Supervisors also represent their urban and suburban populations.

The assumption that unincorporated communities are represented through this structure and do not need "additional" representation is flawed as all SANDAG Board members and Advisory Board members are within the County of San Diego and, therefore, are already provided such a dual overlay of jurisdictions and representation. The exception is the two Advisory Board Members from Imperial County and Mexico.

The Ramona Community Planning Group proposes that the unincorporated, and predominantly rural, communities of San Diego County - be recognized and admitted as an Advisory Member on the SANDAG Board of Directors. The new "San Diego County

January 19, 2023

Unincorporated Communities" Advisory Board Member would represent the unique needs of our geographically disadvantaged populations including their health, safety, housing and work opportunities, the concerns of the agricultural industry, the development of the agritourism industry, the growth of the outdoor recreational industry, and the protection of our vast Open Space Preserves which are a County treasure.

The Ramona Community Planning Group proposes that a selection of a "San Diego County Unincorporated Communities" Advisory Board Member and their Alternate should come from among one of the 28 elected Community Planning Groups Chairs and appointed Community Sponsor Groups Chairs. These 28 Community Planning and Sponsor Group Chairs would select a representative and alternate every 2 years beginning with January of 2023.

SANDAG's "Commitment to Equity" is on the line. This new "San Diego County Unincorporated Communities" Advisory Board Member requires a seat at the table of regional power.

The Ramona Community Planning Group looks forward to working with SANDAG to complete the inclusion of our unincorporated community in the regional planning process.

Respectfully,

ROBIN JOY MAXSON, Chair

Ramona Community Planning Group

Thati Jay Maposa

cc: Supervisor Nora Vargas, District 1

Supervisor Joel Anderson, District 2

Supervisor Terra Lawson-Remer, District 3

Supervisor Nathan Fletcher, District 4

Supervisor Jim Desmond, District 5