Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version Share this



By Miriam Raftery

August 16,2016  (San Diego’s East County)—The deadline for candidates to file, submit signatures and run for local offices has been extended to 5 p.m. tomorrow in  races where incumbents  did not file ot seek reelection. This includes key city council and mayor races in East County, as well as many school boards and special districts such as fire and water boards,as well as community planning boards.

El Cajon: Councilman Tony Ambrose is not seeking reelection so the deadline to run for Council is extended through tomorrow. Two other incumbents are running: Star Bales and Bob McCelllan. Other candidates qualified for the ballot so far are Paul Circo,a planning commissioner,Vickie Butcher, a former planning commissioner,George Glover,who serves on the city's veterans' commission, Steve Goble, a marketing executive,and Joseph Fountain.  Candidates who have filed to run but whose qualifications for the ballot are pending include East County Chaldean Chamber of Commerce President Ben Kalasho,Humbert Cabrera, former El Cajon Citizen of the Year, Jonathan Wright,a marketing/IT specialist who hopes to alleviate poverty, and Stephanie Harper,a mother and former wedding coordinator and radio disk jockey.

Santee:  Mayor Randy Voepel is running for Assembly and not seeking reelection. Councilmembers John Minto and Rob McNelis are both running for Mayor,though their council seats are not up this term. Councilman Jack Dale is not seeking reelection, however,so the filing deadline to run for Council is extended through tomorrow.  Several candidates have filed to run for Council.  Candidates include business owner/contractor Dustin Trotter, Mason Herron, who works for Assemblyman Brian Jones, Stephen Houlian,a nurse endorsed by Preserve WildSantee,  all qualifed for the ballot, says Councilman McNelis,as well as Gino Wiley,who's qualification is not yet confirmed.

Lemon Grove:  Mayor Mary Sessom is not seeking reelection. At least two candidate have indicated they are running (Council members George Gastil and Racquel Vasquez) but the City has not yet verified whether both qualified for the ballot or whether other candidates may have filed. The City has not responded to our inquiry on Council races, however since two Council members are running for  Mayor, there may be open seats with extensions to file.

La Mesa:  There is no filing extension, since both incumbents (Ruth Sterling and Kristine Alessio) are running and have qualified for the ballot,along with challenger Colin Parent,an attorney and advocate for affordable housing and environmental sustainability.

The following special districts and school districts each have at least one incumbent who is not seeking reelection, meaning you can still file papers and submit signatures to run through tomorrow.  Note: East County Magazine has been trying to get this info out sooner,but it was not available from the Registrar of Voters until today:



1. Alpine Union School

2. Cajon Valley Union School

3. Chula Vista Elementary School – Seat 2

4. Coronado Unified School (Full Term)

5. Coronado Unified School (Short Term)

6. Dehesa School

7. Encinitas Union School

8. Escondido Union High School – Trst Area 4

9. Escondido Union School – Trustee Area 3

10. Jamul-Dulzura Union School

11. Julian Union High School (Full Term)

12. La Mesa-Spring Valley School

13. Palomar Community College

14. Poway Unified School

15. Rancho Santa Fe School

16. San Marcos Unified School

17. San Pasqual Union School (Full Term)

18. San Pasqual Union School (Short Term)

19. San Ysidro School (Full Term)

20. San Ysidro School (Short Term)

21. Southwestern Community College – Seat 3

22. Spencer Valley School (Full Term)

23. Vallecitos School (Full Term)

24. Vallecitos School (Short Term)

25. Valley Center-Pauma Unified School

26. Warner Unified School



1. Alpine Fire Protection

2. Borrego Springs Fire

3. Borrego Water

4. Canebrake County Water

5. Deer Spring Fire Protection (Full Term)

6. Descanso Community Water

7. Fallbrook Healthcare

8. Grossmont Healthcare

9. Julian Community Services

10. Lower Sweetwater Fire Protection

11. Mootamai Municipal Water – Division 1

12. Morro Hills Community Services

13. North County Fire Protection

14. Pauma Municipal Water – Division 1

15. Ramona Municipal Water – Division 1

16. Ramona Municipal Water – Division 5

17. Rincon Ranch Community Services

18. San Miguel Consolidated Fire Protection

19. Santa Fe Irrigation – Division 1

20. Santa Fe Irrigation – Division 2

21. Vista Fire Protection

22. Whispering Palm Community Services



Error message

Local news in the public interest is more important now than ever, during the COVID-19 crisis. Our reporters, as essential workers, are dedicated to keeping you informed, even though we’ve had to cancel fundraising events. Please give the gift of community journalism by donating at