Skip navigation.
Home

LITERARY EVENTS: SAN DIEGO PUBLIC LIBRARY CONTINUES DOWNTOWN VERSE POETRY & SPOKEN WORD PROGRAM




Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version Share this

www.SDWriteWay.org  Early June
 
May 29, 2012 (San Diego) -- The San Diego Public Library continues its poetry and spoken word series Downtown Verse during June. The next featured performance is by the Lake San Marcos Writers on Monday, June 11. The performance begins at 4:00 pm in the Lobby of the Central Library, located at 820 E Street in downtown San Diego. This event is free and open to the public.

The Lake San Marcos Writers are a diverse group of women who are mothers, former teachers, a social worker, a nurse, librarian, financial analyst, entrepreneur and healer. Since forming in February 2005, they have completed memoirs, chapbooks and family histories, and compiled a treasure chest of personal prose and poetry. Together they produced two chapbooks: Arrivals & Departures, in 2011, and Reflections, in 2010, which was a finalist in the San Diego Book Awards. The Lake San Marcos writers' group is small, creative, and caring for each other and the world outside.
 
Downtown Verse will continue to feature area poets and spoken word artists on an occasional basis, offering the community an accessible and exciting venue for expressive performance.
 
Learn about other events at the San Diego Public Library’s Central Library and 35 branches, find links to numerous additional resources (including those for local authors), or search for materials online in the Library’s catalog at www.sandiegolibrary.org.
 
June 2 (Saturday, 2:30-5:00 pm) — Adventures by the Book, in partnership with The Westgate Hotel, presents a Ladies’ Literary Tea Adventure with New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hodgkinson at The Westgate Hotel, 1055 Second Avenue, San Diego 92101. This is a ticketed event ($40++ per person) which includes an elegant afternoon tea, author discussion, Q&A, book signing, and an opportunity to meet the author up close and personal in an intimate setting. 
 
About the Book: 22 Britannia Road is a harrowing and gripping tale about the lengths to which a mother will go to protect her child. A wrenching story of WWII and its effect on families, the book is most touching in its depiction of one couple’s desperate desire to create a home in the aftermath of war when neither can quite remember what home is.
 
For more information regarding the event, please contact Susan McBeth at (619) 300-2532 or at susan@adventuresbythebook.com.
 
June 2 (Saturday, 7:30 pm) — Warwick's will host the bestselling author of The Slippery Year, Melanie Gideon, who will discuss her novel Wife 22. This event is free and open to the public. In order to be signed, the author's most current book must be purchased from Warwick's.
 
Background: For fans of Helen Fielding's Bridget Jones's Diary and Allison Pearson's I Don't Know How She Does It comes an irresistible novel of a woman losing herself . . . and finding herself again . . . in the middle of her life.
 
Maybe it was those extra five pounds I'd gained. Maybe it was because I was about to turn the same age my mother was when I lost her. Maybe it was because after almost twenty years of marriage my husband and I seemed to be running out of things to say to each other. But when the anonymous online study called "Marriage in the 21st Century" showed up in my inbox, I had no idea how profoundly it would change my life. It wasn't long before I was assigned both a pseudonym (Wife 22) and a caseworker (Researcher 101).
 
And, just like that, I found myself answering questions.
 
Before the study, my life was an endless blur of school lunches and doctor's appointments, family dinners, budgets, and trying to discern the fastest-moving line at the grocery store. I was Alice Buckle: spouse of William and mother to Zoe and Peter, drama teacher and Facebook chatter, downloader of memories and Googler of solutions. But these days, I'm also Wife 22. And somehow, my anonymous correspondence with Researcher 101 has taken an unexpectedly personal turn. Soon, I'll have to make a decision – one that will affect my family, my marriage, and my whole life. But at the moment, I'm too busy answering questions. As it turns out, confession can be a very powerful aphrodisiac.
 
June 3 ( Sun. 11:00 am to 1:00 pm) — The Chino Farm will be hosting Jeanne Kelley to sign copies of her beautiful new cookbook SALAD FOR DINNER: Complete Meals for All Seasons just released by Rizzoli International Press. Ms. Kelley is the third chef in the recently launched Good Earth/Great Chefs Series, a collaboration between veteran bookseller Milane Christiansen of Vintage Works and the legendary Chino Farm. There will be an informal reception with select tastings of Jeanne’s salads using seasonal lettuces and vegetables fresh from the Chino farm, along with a sample of a virgin olive oil from 36° degrees, to try at home.
 
It will be held outdoors rain or shine and is free to the public. Jeanne will be signing books purchased at the event or pre-ordered by emailing greatchefseries@gmail.com. The farm will also be open for regular shopping during the event. The Chino Farm, 6123 Calzada del Bosque, Rancho Santa Fe.
 
June 3 (Sunday, 2:30 pm) — At the La Jolla Library, 7555 Draper Ave., Warwick's and the La Jolla Library present an afternoon with Michael Scott author of The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flammel series as he discusses and signs his book The Enchantress. This event is free and open to the public. In order to be signed The Enchantress must be purchased from Warwick's. Pre-orders are available, but must be picked up from Warwick's prior to the event.
 
Teens (Ages 12-18) who attend this event can sign up for the Summer Reading Program before anyone else! Those who sign up at the event will be entered to win various raffle prizes, including a copy of The Enchantress!
 
Background: Let's kick off the Library's Summer Reading Program with Warwick's and author Michael Scott. The La Jolla Library's Summer Reading Program's mission is to motivate children to read, develop positive attitudes about reading and books, enable children to maintain their reading skills during summer vacation, encourage regular use of the library, attract new users to the library, and to foster cooperation between community agencies. Children and teens who participate pledge to read 10 books over the summer. To learn more about this program visit: http://www.sandiego.gov/public-library/services/summerreading.shtml.
 
San Francisco: Nicholas and Perenelle Flamel have one day left to live, and one job left to do. They must defend San Francisco. The monsters gathered on Alcatraz Island have been released and are heading toward the city. If they are not stopped, they will destroy everyone and everything in their path.
 
Warwicks Books, 7812 Girard Avenue | La Jolla, Ca | 92037 | Ph. (858) 454-0347 | www.warwicks.com.
 
* * *
Sam Warren is the publisher and editor of www.SDWriteWay.org. Visit the site for additional news and calendar events for both Readers and Writers.