Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version Share this

July 31, 2010 (Escondido)– Eleven  San Diego County agriculture students have been awarded scholarships from the San Diego County Farm Bureau Scholarship Program. This year, the San  Bureau's Scholarship Committee awarded $16,000 in varying amounts to the students.

“We had a 22 applications submitted this year, with several students again being repeat recipients,” said SDCFB Scholarship Chair Janet Silva Kister. “Word is getting out that the San Diego County Farm Bureau Scholarship Program has some serious money available to agriculturally directed college students. And it’s fascinating to see the wide range of career goals these applicants have, all under the agriculture industry umbrella.”

“These recipients show a wide range of student achievements, a variety of ag experiences, and plenty of high grades in their chosen field,” said Fred Ceballos, who has served eight years on Farm Bureau’s scholarship committee. “As they gain college experience, I can see in their applications that they are getting a better feel for the real world and where they fit into it. It’s so rewarding to serve on this committee and see how the students grow through their college years, and, for repeat scholarship recipients, to see how they are shaping their goals and ideals.”

The San Diego County Farm Bureau Scholarship Program began in 1999, with the primary source of scholarship funds coming from private donations and named scholarship awards. The balance is raised from the organization’s annual fall Scholarship Golf Tournament, scheduled this year for Thursday, Sept. 16 at San Luis Rey Downs in Bonsall.

San Diego County Farm Bureau is a nonprofit trade organization with more than 7,000 members. It has operated since 1913 with the mission to represent San Diego County agriculture through public relations, education and public policy advocacy in order to promote the economic viability of agriculture balanced with appropriate management of natural resources.


Student                       Residence      School                               Career Goal
Emily Cary                   Alpine               Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo     Equine Vet
Adelaide Dyer*             Alpine               Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo     Ag Communications
Jena Glasgow*            Ramona            Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo     Vet/Dairy Industry
Rob Hillebrecht             Escondido         Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo     Ag Engineering
Margaret Maratsos*     Fallbrook          Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo     Ag Teacher
Madison Maximo          Pine Valley        CSU Fresno Professor         Ag Business
Mathew Mellott            Lakeside           CSU Fresno                        Ag Business
Marissa Tescier*          Fallbrook           Oklahoma State, Stillwater  Animal Nutrition/Journalism
Ariel Vieweg                 Encinitas            UC Davis                            PR for USDA
Katie Wagner*             Lakeside            Modesto Jr. College            Veterinarian
Taylor Zumstein           Fallbrook           Cal Poly, Pomona                Ag Marketing

*Past SDCFB scholarship recipient

Error message

Support community news in the public interest! As nonprofit news, we rely on donations from the public to fund our reporting -- not special interests. Please donate to sustain East County Magazine's local reporting and/or wildfire alerts at https://www.eastcountymedia.org/donate to help us keep people safe and informed across our region.