Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version Share this

September 28, 2012 (San Diego’s East County) – For the fifth year in a row, East County Magazine reporters and photographers will be taking home awards in the San Diego Press Club Excellence in Journalism Awards.  Nadin Abbott, Tom Abbott, Jim  Pelley, Ryan Schuler, and ECM editor Miriam Raftery are all winners in the 2012 competition.

The winning categories—and just how many awards ECM has won – will be announced on October 23 at the San Diego Hall of Champions.

Jim Pelley is our Ocotillo-based photojournalist who has been documenting issues involving the Ocotillo Express wind project.  Nadin and Tom Abbott have covered major wildfires, political events and other top news stories.  Ryan Schuler, our sportswriter, was an intern with ECM at the time he picked up his award, though we don’t yet know whether he won for his ECM stories or coverage in the Daily Aztec, where he also writes. 

ECM editor Miriam Raftery has received more than 100 journalism awards in her career.  Society of Professional Journalists San Diego chapter honored Raftery with its 2012 James Julian Memorial Award presented for Raftery's investigative reports which led to the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) retracting its demand that local wildfire victims return disaster funds. Raftery has also received an American Society of Journalists and Authors national Arlene Award for community reporting for her coverage of election integrity issues.

East County Magazine has received dozens of top journalism awards since our launch in September 2008.  San Diego Press Club named East County Magazine the best general interest website in San Diego County for 2009. Our website was also named second best news site after the San Diego Union-Tribune. ECM awards include top prizes for investigative reporting, breaking news, features, multi-cultural coverage, environmental reporting and many other categories.

Our nonprofit media site has also received an investigative reporting award from Society for Professional Journalists (SPJ) San Diego chapter, as well as an SPJ award for editorial writing. In 2012, we received the 2012 Media Award from the League of Women Voters, San Diego for our coverage of developers' efforts to abolish community planning groups.

View the complete list of 2012 San Diego Press Club winners here:

Error message

Support community news in the public interest! As nonprofit news, we rely on donations from the public to fund our reporting -- not special interests. Please donate to sustain East County Magazine's local reporting and/or wildfire alerts at to help us keep people safe and informed across our region.