Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version Share this


Update Nov. 13: Jamul-Dulzura has been added to the list of school districts closed today.

East County News Service

November 12, 2018 (San Diego's East County) -- Four East County school districts will be closed tomorrow because San Diego Gas & Electric Company (SDG&E) has activated a public safety power shutoff in some rural areas of the County. The following districts' schools wil be closed: 

  • Jamul Dulzura Union School District
  • Julian Union School District
  • Julian Union High School District
  • Mountain Empire Unified School District
  • Spencer Valley School District


"The safety and security of students, faculty, and staff is of the utmost importance to schools across the county," the County Office of Education announcement states.

Schools in the Warner Unified School District will also be closed Nov. 13 for a previously scheduled teacher work day.

Follow the San Diego County Office of Education (SDCOE) on Twitter (@SanDiegoCOE) for tweets from various emergency agencies and school districts as well as live updates.

Here are some additional online resources to provide situational awareness for school leaders and community members:


Error message

Support community news in the public interest! As nonprofit news, we rely on donations from the public to fund our reporting -- not special interests. Please donate to sustain East County Magazine's local reporting and/or wildfire alerts at to help us keep people safe and informed across our region.