READERS CALENDAR FOR FEBRUARY 4-11, 2013

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version Share this

 

For complete Calendar including Authors Events, go to www.SDWriteWay.org

February 4, 2013 (San Diego)--The San Diego Public Library's 47th Annual Local Authors Exhibit : The Library is going to display it in the exhibit, which will run the entire month of February 2013 in the lobby of the Central Library downtown.

February 6 (Wednesday, 7:00 pm) — Brandon Sanderson and Harriet McDougal sign A Memory of Light, the 14th and final volume in Robert Jordan’s The Wheel of Time®, brings to a close the legendary epic fantasy series. When Robert Jordan passed away, he had prepared for the moment with hundreds of pages of notes devoted to the concluding volumes and a request to his widow and long-time editor, Harriet McDougal, to find a successor to finish the series. That successor, a renowned epic fantasy author in his own right, Brandon Sanderson, joins Harriet to celebrate the concluding volume with The Wheel of Time® fans.

This is a ticketed event – tickets for the signing line are available with purchase of A Memory of Light from Mysterious Galaxy, available now.

February 6 (Wednesday, 7:30 pm) — Warwick's will host debut local author Elise Sax who will discuss and sign her book An Affair to Dismember. This event is free and open to the public. In order to be signed, An Affair to Dismember must be purchased from Warwick's.

Background: Certain to appeal to fans of Janet Evanovich, Jennifer Crusie, and Katie MacAlister, Elise Sax's hilarious series debut introduces matchmaker-in-training Gladie Burger, who stumbles into a dangerous quagmire of murder and red-hot romance.

Three months has been Gladie Burger's limit when it comes to staying in one place. That's why Gladie is more than a little skeptical when her eccentric Grandma Zelda recruits her to the family's matchmaking business in the quaint small town of Cannes, California. What's more, Gladie is also highly unqualified, having a terrible track record with romance. Still, Zelda is convinced that her granddaughter has "the gift." But when the going gets tough, Gladie wonders if this gift has a return policy.

When Zelda's neighbor drops dead in his kitchen, Gladie is swept into his bizarre family's drama. Despite warnings from the (distractingly gorgeous) chief of police to steer clear of his investigation, Gladie is out to prove that her neighbor's death was murder. It's not too long before she's in way over her head--with the hunky police chief, a dysfunctional family full of possible killers, and yet another mysterious and handsome man, whose attentions she's unable to ignore. Gladie is clearly being pursued--either by true love or by a murderer. Who will catch her first?

Warwick's | 7812 Girard Avenue | La Jolla, Ca | 92037 | Ph. (858) 454-0347 | www.warwicks.com.

Writers

Workshops, Classes, Seminars, Book Festivals,  Contests and Authors Exhibits

www.SDWriteWay.org

ATTENTION AUTHORS: Have your book featured in Local Authors Books. Go to Local Writers Lounge for details.

ATTENTION THEATER LOVERS: The SDWriteWay.org webzine is looking for more volunteers to write theater reviews. Of course the tickets are free. Contact Kathy Carpenter at kathy.carpenter4@gte.net.

Sam Warren is the publisher and editor of www.SDWriteWay.org. Visit the site for additional news and calendar events for both Readers and Writers.