Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version Share this

January 25, 2011 (San Diego) – Darrell Steinberg, president pro tem of the California State Senate, has announced policy committee assignments. Among East County and eastern San Diego’s delegation, committee chairmanships were awarded to Christine Kehoe (Appropriations) and Juan Vargas (Banking & Financial Institutions).


Additional assignments for the region’s four representatives (including Republicans Joel Anderson and Mark Wyland, as well as Democrats Kehoe and Vargas) are as follows:


Kehoe will also serve on several other committees: Banking & Financial Institutions, Environmental Quality, Transportation & Housing, Joint Committee on Arts, Joint Committee on Fisheries and Aquaculture, Joint Committee on Rules, and Joint Legislative Budget Committee.

Vargas will also serve on the Agriculture and Education committees, as well as the Joint Committee Rules.

Republican Joel Anderson will serve on the following committees: Budget & Fiscal Review, Budget Subcommittee #5, Health, and Insurance, as well as on the Joint Committee on Legislative Audits.

Mark Wyland, also a Republican, will serve on the Appropriations Committee, Governmental Organizations Committee, Labor & Industrial Relations, as well as the Business, Professions & Economic Development Committee.

For a full list of Senate committee assignments, see

Error message

Support community news in the public interest! As nonprofit news, we rely on donations from the public to fund our reporting -- not special interests. Please donate to sustain East County Magazine's local reporting and/or wildfire alerts at to help us keep people safe and informed across our region.