Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version Share this


October 28, 2010 (San Diego’s East County) – East County Magazine editor Miriam Raftery is among the nominees for a Women in Leadership Award. Winners will be announced Friday, October 29 at the San Diego East County Chamber of Commerce’s annual Women in Leadership luncheon at the Doubletree Hotel in Mission Valley.


For reservations, visit For a list of nominees and categories, scroll down.

2010 Women in Leadership nominees

Art, Media & Culture

1. Miriam Raftery- Founder and Editor of East County Magazine.
2. County Supervisor Pam Slater Price-County of San Diego (Also Gov nominee)

1. Debra Reed- President/CEO of SDG&E and Southern California Gas Company
2. Dolores Buller- Owner of ACT II, Inc. in La Mesa
3. Darity Wesley- Founder of Privacy Solutions, Inc. and Co-Founder of the Lotus Law Center
4. Odie Goward- Vice President, California Bank & Trust- La Mesa
5. Karen Mendez-Carter, Vice President of Investments at Wedbush Securities.
6. Deanna Weeks- Retired CEO of the East County Economic Development Council

1. Dr. Roseann Rinear- Adjunct Professor at City College, Professor of Child Development at Brandman University
2. Dr. Cindy Miles- Chancellor of the Grossmont Cuyamaca Community College District
3. Dr. Constance Carroll- Chancellor of the San Diego Community College District.
4. Laurie Furry- Director of Education at the Water Conservation Garden
5. Sarita Fuentas- Principal and CEO of the Monarch School

1. Mary Sessom, Mayor of Lemon Grove
2. County Supervisor Pam Slater-Price- County of San Diego
3. Ronnie Froman- Chief Operating Officer of the City of San Diego and retired Rear Admiral in the US Navy

1. Gloria Chadwick- President of the Grossmont Healthcare District Board
2. Debbie Yaddow- Associate Dean of Nursing at Grossmont College

1. Joyce Glazer- Chair of the Salvatio Army’s Metropolitan Advisory Board (also could be an Art/Media/Culture Nominee)
2. Tamara Alter- Founder of the “High Heals” Foundation for Ovarian Cancer
3. Lani Lutar- President/CEO of the San Diego County Taxpayers Association
4. Debra Turner-Emerson- Executive Director for St. Madeleine Sophie’s Center
5. Beth Morgante- Vice President for Sharp HealthCare and Supervisor of the Annual Giving Program for the Grossmont Hospital Foundation.
6. Kathy Blair- Soroptimists of La Mesa


Error message

Support community news in the public interest! As nonprofit news, we rely on donations from the public to fund our reporting -- not special interests. Please donate to sustain East County Magazine's local reporting and/or wildfire alerts at to help us keep people safe and informed across our region.