Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version Share this


Update: Grossmont Union High School District schools will be open, though CIF sports events remain cancelled.

By Miriam Raftery

May 15, 2014 (San Diego)--The safety and security of students, faculty, and staff is of the upmost importance to schools across the county, the County Office of Education’s website states. As the current wildfires change and grow, each school district will continue to monitor the local emergency situation and make school closure decisions on a day-by-day basis.  

Below is a list of schools that will be closed Friday, schools that will be open, and others that will announce their decision Friday morning.


County school districts are considering factors such as:  

 Location of the current fire(s) and proximity to campuses

 Air quality

 Weather conditions

 Difficulty in staffing school sites, with many school employees impacted by evacuations and unable to report for duty

 Public safety officials' recommendation to keep the roads clear for emergency responders and evacuees

 Energy officials' recommendations to conserve energy


Each district in fire-impacted areas must inventory its sites for cleanliness and air quality, to ensure they are safe for children and staff to occupy. The San Diego County Office of Education (SDCOE) is providing guidance to support those efforts


The following school districts will be closed on Friday, May 16, 2014:

 Bonsall Union

 Carlsbad Unified

 Escondido Union Elementary

 Escondido Union High

 Fallbrook Union Elementary

 Fallbrook Union High

 Oceanside Unified

 Poway Unified

 San Marcos Unified

 San Pasqual Union

 Vallecitos

 Valley Center-Pauma Unified

 Vista Unified


The following school districts will be open on Friday, May 16, 2014 unless conditions change/ deteriorate:

 Alpine Union*

 Borrego Springs Unified*

 Chula Vista Elementary*

 Coronado Unified

 Julian Union Elementary*

 Julian Union High*

 National*

 South Bay Union*

 Sweetwater High*



The following school districts are monitoring and will make a decision about a possible school closures on Friday, May 16, 2014 as additional information becomes available:

 Cajon Valley

 Cardiff

 Dehesa

 Del Mar Union

 Encinitas Union

 Grossmont Union High

 Jamul-Dulzura Union*

 La Mesa-Spring Valley

 Lakeside Union

 Lemon Grove

 Mountain Empire Unified*

 Ramona Unified

 Rancho Santa Fe

 San Diego Unified

 San Dieguito Union High

 San Ysidro*

 Santee

 Solana Beach

 Spencer Valley*

 Warner Unified*


* Indicates districts that are open today, May 15, 2014.

Follow the San Diego County Office of Education on Twitter for tweets from various emergency agencies and school districts.

Error message

Local news in the public interest is more important now than ever, during the COVID-19 crisis. Our reporters, as essential workers, are dedicated to keeping you informed, even though we’ve had to cancel fundraising events. Please give the gift of community journalism by donating at