Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version Share this


Aztecs to make seventh regional team appearance in eight years


Photo courtesy

April 27, 2017 (San Diego) - The San Diego State women's golf team received word of its postseason destination on Thursday when the NCAA Division I Women's Golf Committee announced the Aztecs will compete in the NCAA Lubbock Regional, May 8-10, in Lubbock, Texas. SDSU garnered the No. 8 seed for its seventh regional berth in the last eight years and 14th overall since the regional format was introduced in 1993.

The Aztecs, who earned an at-large bid after finishing second at the Mountain West Championship on April 19, will be joined on the par-72, 6,541-yard Rawls Course in order of seed by UCLA, Arizona State, Furman, Kent State, Texas, Oklahoma, Brigham Young, host Texas Tech, TCU, UNLV, Oregon, Iowa State, Oregon State, Murray State, Georgetown, Richmond and Sacred Heart.

The field also includes six individuals who will compete for the right to advance to the NCAA Championships, featuring Katrina Prendergast from Mountain West rival Colorado State, along with LSU’s Caroline Nistrup, Coastal Carolina’s Malene Kroboll Hansen, Boston College’s Lois Kaye Go, Washington State’s Alivia Brown and UC Riverside’s Jakeishya Le.

In addition to SDSU and UNLV, the MW’s third team invitation was extended to San José State, which will participate in the Columbus Regional on the Scarlet Course at Ohio State University in Columbus, Ohio. Meanwhile, the two remaining regional championships will be contested at the UNM South Championship Course in Albuquerque, N.M., and the UGA Golf Course in Athens, Ga, with New Mexico and Georgia serving as host schools, respectively. 

The Aztecs will play 18 holes each of the three days, following a practice round on Sunday, May 7. The top six squads and three lowest individuals not on those teams from each regional will advance to the NCAA Championships, scheduled for May 19-24, at Rich Harvest Farms in Sugar Grove, Ill.

This year marks San Diego State's 10th trip to regional competition as a team and represents the 14th time the program has sent at least one golfer to the regional round since the format was established in 1993.

The Aztecs ended a six-year absence from the NCAAs in 2010, when the squad finished 13th at the Central Regional in Columbus, Ind. SDSU also posted a 17th-place showing at the 2011 West Regional in Auburn, Wash., followed by a tie for 20th at the 2012 East Regional in State College, Pa.

The Aztecs missed out on a team berth in 2013, but qualified three individuals, Paige Spiranac, Christine Wong, Emma Henrikson, to the Central Regional in Norman, Okla. In 2014, the Aztecs received an at-large bid as a team once again, tying for the 21st position in the West Regional at Suncadia Resort's Tumble Creek course in Cle Elum, Wash. In 2015, San Diego State posted its highest placement in regional action, landing in the 11th spot at the Entrada at Snow Canyon Resort in St. George, Utah, before finishing 12th a year ago at Stanford Golf Course.

The Aztecs, who are seeking for their first-ever national championship appearance as a team, are currently ranked 30th nationally by both Golfstat and Golfweek.

San Diego State Women’s Golf at NCAA Regionals (started in 1993)

Year       Team/Individual                  Regional (Location)                          Finish

1996      Lindy Donnelly                    West (Omaha, Neb.)                         32nd

1997      Christelle Cuzon                 West (Tucson, Ariz.)                         42nd

1999      Team                                    West (Houston, Texas)                      18th

2000      Heather Rollo                      ­West (Tempe, Ariz.)                         109th

2001      Team                                    East (Chapel Hill, N.C.)                       15th

2004      Team                                    West (Stanford, Calif.)                      T-15th

2010      Team                                    Central (Columbus, Ind.)                   13th

2011      Team                                    West (Auburn, Wash.)                      17th

2012      Team                                    East (State College, Pa.)                    T-20th

2013      Paige Spiranac                    Central (Norman, Okla.                     T-19th

               Christine Wong                   Central (Norman, Okla.)                    T-35th

               Emma Henrikson                Central (Norman, Okla.)                    T-57th

2014      Team                                    West (Cle Elum, Wash.)                    T-21st

2015      Team                                    St. George (St. George, Utah)           11th

2016      Team                                    Stanford (Stanford, Calif.)                 12th


Error message

Local news in the public interest is more important now than ever, during the COVID-19 crisis. Our reporters, as essential workers, are dedicated to keeping you informed, even though we’ve had to cancel fundraising events. Please give the gift of community journalism by donating at