Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version Share this

By Miriam Raftery


April 2, 2011 (San Diego) -- Every 10 years, the City of San Diego Redistricting Commission redraws the political boundaries for City Council districts candidates. This is a once in a decade occasion. The County is also redistricting its Supervisorial seats.  Want to have a say in how your community gets represented for the next 10 years?


The best way to do this is to give public testimony during the early stages of the redistricting process.  You can testify or learn more at nine pre-map hearings set in locations throughout San Diego in April and early May, as well as at Redistricting Commission regular meetings downtown. Below are details on dates, times, and locations.



Redistricting Commission regular meetings are generally held the first and third Thursdays of each month at 4:00 pm. at the City Administration Building, 202 C Street, San Diego in the 12th floor Committee Room.


In addition, nine pre-map public hearings have now been scheduled at locations throughout San Diego in April and May, all starting at 6 p.m. Below is a schedule, which is subject to change.

Pre-Map Public Hearings - all begin at 6 p.m. unless otherwise noted


1. Tuesday, April 19 (District 4)
Valencia Park/Malcolm X Library
Community Room
5148 Market Street, San Diego, 92114


2. Wednesday, April 20 (District 8)
Otay Mesa-Nestor Library
Community Room
3003 Coronado Avenue, San Diego, 92154


3. Monday, April 25 (District 5)
Qualcomm Headquarters
Main Services Building - Main Lunch Room
5775 Morehouse Drive, San Diego, 92121


4. Wednesday, April 27 (District 7)
Tierrasanta Recreation Center
Rooms 2 and 3
11220 Clairemont Mesa Boulevard, San Diego, 92122


5. Special Weekend Hearing – begins at 10 a.m.
Saturday, April 30 (Citywide)
Balboa Park Club
Santa Fe Room
2144 Pan American Road West, San Diego, 92101


6. Monday, May 2 (District 3)
Regional Transportation Center
4001 El Cajon Boulevard, San Diego, 92121


7. Wednesday, May 4 (District 2)
Point Loma/Hervey Library
Community Room
3701 Voltaire Street, San Diego, 92107


8. Monday, May 9 (District 6)
Bayside Community Center
Grand Hall
2202 Comstock Street, San Diego, 92111


9. Wednesday, May 11 (District 1)
La Jolla Library
Community Room
7555 Draper Avenue, La Jolla, 92037


For information on redistricting meetings for the County, including details on an April 25 redistricting meeting for the County's 2nd Supervisorial Distirct representing East County, visit


Error message

Support community news in the public interest! As nonprofit news, we rely on donations from the public to fund our reporting -- not special interests. Please donate to sustain East County Magazine's local reporting and/or wildfire alerts at to help us keep people safe and informed across our region.