Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version Share this



By Miriam Raftery

June 15, 2017 (San Diego’s East County Magazine) – Society of Professional Journalists, San Diego has released the list of winners in its 2017 journalist competition.  Four East County Magazine journalists are among the award winners:   Jonathan Goetz, Rachel Williams, Rebecca Jefferis Williamson, and editor Miriam Raftery.

The list does not reveal  whether the winners will be honored with first, second or third place awards or honorable mentions, or how many awards each recipient will receive.  Since East County Magazine has already won 97 journalism prizes, however, it’s a sure thing that we’ll be up to at least 101 awards!

Williams has been reporting on compelling human interest stories including the struggles of Syrian refugees in El Cajon.  Goetz covers primarily local government issues.  Williamson reports on features and news stories for ECM.  Raftery provides investigative reporting, breaking news coverage and more.

Awards will be presented at SPJ’s annual dinner on July 19 at the Kona Kai resort on Shelter Island in San Diego.  Tickets for the awards banquet are available at . Join us in celebrating our success!

To support our continuing efforts to bring you news in the public interest, you can make a donation to our nonprofit, independent news outlet at  You can also sign up to receive our free weekly newsletter with top  news and events as well as wildfire alerts at

SPJ will also honor Morgan Cook as Journalist of the Year for her reporting in the San Diego Union-Tribune on Congressman Duncan D. Hunter’s campaign finance issues that led to a criminal investigation by the U.S. Justice Department.

Error message

Support community news in the public interest! As nonprofit news, we rely on donations from the public to fund our reporting -- not special interests. Please donate to sustain East County Magazine's local reporting and/or wildfire alerts at to help us keep people safe and informed across our region.