Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version Share this




January 25, 2010 (San Diego) – Ten out of 11 local legislators made the California Small Business Association Honor Roll for 2009, in recognition of their voting records to protect the interests of small businesses. Conspicuously absent from the list was State Senator Dennis Hollingsworth (R-Murrieta), whose district encompasses the bulk of East County.


The CSBA http://www.csba.com/home/index.asp scored legislators on three levels. Highest-ranked Summa Cum Laude members locally are Assemblymembers Joel Anderson (R-El Cajon), Marty Block (D-Lemon Grove), Nathan Fletcher (R-San Diego), Martin Garrick (R-Carlsbad), and Mary Salas (D-Chula Vista), along with Senators Christine Kehoe (D-San Diego) and Denise Ducheny (D-San Diego).

Magna Cum Laude recognitions were provided to Assemblymembers Kevin Jeffries (R-Lake Elsinore) and Lori Saldaña (D-San Diego.) Senator Mark Wyland (R-Escondido) was named to the third-tier “Cum Laude” list of honorees.

“I am honored to be recognized by the California Small Business Association. Small Business is the backbone of our economy, providing the lion’s share of jobs in the United States,” stated Ms. Salas.

The California Small Business Association is a non-profit organization that advocates for and serves as a voice for small businesses in California.


Error message

Support community news in the public interest! As nonprofit news, we rely on donations from the public to fund our reporting -- not special interests. Please donate to sustain East County Magazine's local reporting and/or wildfire alerts at https://www.eastcountymedia.org/donate to help us keep people safe and informed across our region.