California minimum wage

GOVERNOR BROWN SIGNS BILL RAISING MINIMUM WAGE

 

By Miriam Raftery

September 25, 2013 (Sacramento) – Governor Jerry Brown today signed into law Assembly Bill 10, a measure that will raise California’s minimum wage from $8 an hour to $9  starting July 1, 2014 and to $10 an hour on January 1, 2016.

 “The minimum wage has not kept pace with rising costs,” said Governor Brown. “This legislation is overdue and will help families that are struggling in this harsh economy.”

AB 10 was opposed by the California Chamber of Commerce. The group’s website states that the bill will “will continue to increase costs on employers of all sizes, regardless of other economic factors or costs that California employers are struggling with to sustain their business.”