One Million Californians Still Not Buckling Up
May 21, 2011 (San Diego) -- As families across California plan for upcoming spring travel, there’s not much you can do to control the cost of filling up the gas tank, but you can avoid a costly ticket by making sure that everyone in the car wears their seat belt. Law enforcement throughout the state, including the San Diego Police Department will be looking for unbelted drivers and passengers as part of the 2011 Click It or Ticket mobilization, May 23 – June 5.
The fines and fees for first time adult seat belt violations are a minimum of $142. For children under 16, the fine is $445 for a first time offense. In cases where an adult passenger is not buckled up, both the passenger and the driver will be ticketed.