theatre reviews

THE 39 STEPS LIGHTS UP LAMPLIGHTERS THROUGH NOV. 6

By Kathy Carpenter

October 24, 2022 (La Mesa) - Lamplighters Community Theatre deliver a breath of fresh air as we breeze through October into November in a keystone-cop type comedy presentation of The 39 Steps. This play lightens the mood, when normally at this time of year it's all things dark and spooky. The play is a treat -- light-hearted, delightful and a bit of a spoof on film noir classic Hitchcock.


Error message

Support community news in the public interest! As nonprofit news, we rely on donations from the public to fund our reporting -- not special interests. Please donate to sustain East County Magazine's local reporting and/or wildfire alerts at https://www.eastcountymedia.org/donate to help us keep people safe and informed across our region.

ANOTHER ANTIGONE REVIEW - BASED ON SOPHOCLES’ TRAGEDY

By Kathy Carpenter

"Oh, it's hard to give in! But it is worse to risk everything for stubborn pride." --Creon quote from Antigone by Sophocles. 

 

September 29, 2022 (Poway) - PowPac is presenting Another Antigone. A wry, witty, drama written by AR. Gurney, the play portrays the battle of wills between a college professor and his student. The play compares collegiate life to a Greek tragedy.  Four tremendous acting jobs, touches of humor, and thought-provoking moments guide us through this look at the repercussions of choice. Does anyone win when pride becomes involved?


Error message

Support community news in the public interest! As nonprofit news, we rely on donations from the public to fund our reporting -- not special interests. Please donate to sustain East County Magazine's local reporting and/or wildfire alerts at https://www.eastcountymedia.org/donate to help us keep people safe and informed across our region.

MURDER IS ANNOUNCED: A CLASSIC CHRISTIE MISS MARPLE MYSTERY ONSTAGE AT POWPAC

Review by Kathy Carpenter

August 2, 2022 (Poway) - Not as well-known as perhaps some of Agatha Christie's other novels but often considered one of her best, "A Murder is Announced" is presented by Powpac now through August 21.  Novels  featuring detective Hercule Poirot are generally the Christie stories one thinks of first, such as "Murder on The Orient Express” and "Death on the Nile." I actually love sweet-little-old Miss Marple, the sleuth in "A Murder is Announced," which was written in 1950. The mystery, filled with twists and turns, will keep you guessing until the end.


Error message

Support community news in the public interest! As nonprofit news, we rely on donations from the public to fund our reporting -- not special interests. Please donate to sustain East County Magazine's local reporting and/or wildfire alerts at https://www.eastcountymedia.org/donate to help us keep people safe and informed across our region.

BRIGHTON BEACH MEMOIRS: ADOLESCENT REFLECTIONS

By Kathy Carpenter

July 14, 2022 (La Mesa) - Who says boys can't be drama queens or their male counterparts?  Lamplighter's presents Brighton Beach Memoirs by Neil Simon and directed by Dennis Floyd.  It’s an emotional rollercoaster filled with laughter and tears. 


Error message

Support community news in the public interest! As nonprofit news, we rely on donations from the public to fund our reporting -- not special interests. Please donate to sustain East County Magazine's local reporting and/or wildfire alerts at https://www.eastcountymedia.org/donate to help us keep people safe and informed across our region.

THE DINING ROOM - A LOST ART: ONSTAGE AT POWPAC THROUGH JUNE 19

By Kathy Carpenter

June 14, 2022 (Poway) – The Dining Room, presented by PowPac Theatre, is a comedy of manners, which satirizes behavior of a particular social group, usually upper class. In this case, 19 mini skits intersecting around a dining room table through time. These are snapshots of a dying tradition over time and a showcase of tremendous acting as six actors portray 57 diverse characters. There is no shortage of talent on this stage.


Error message

Support community news in the public interest! As nonprofit news, we rely on donations from the public to fund our reporting -- not special interests. Please donate to sustain East County Magazine's local reporting and/or wildfire alerts at https://www.eastcountymedia.org/donate to help us keep people safe and informed across our region.

REVIEW: 1940S RADIO HOUR - STEP BACK IN TIME AT LAMPLIGHTERS THEATRE

By Kathy Carpenter 

November 28, 2021 (La Mesa) - Once upon a time, before scrolling through your social media feed, before television, in a simpler time, there was radio--with only a couple of options to choose from. But the family came together and listened. Lamplighter's theatre presents "The 1940s Radio Hour," a musical by Walton Jones touching on the nostalgia of the era. The play is a soothing and peaceful interlude among the chaos of the holiday season’s hustle and bustle.


Error message

Support community news in the public interest! As nonprofit news, we rely on donations from the public to fund our reporting -- not special interests. Please donate to sustain East County Magazine's local reporting and/or wildfire alerts at https://www.eastcountymedia.org/donate to help us keep people safe and informed across our region.

FOR WHOM THE SOUTHERN BELLE TOLLS RUNS THROUGH DEC. 4 AT THE MOXIE: SOUTHERN FUN

By Kathy Carpenter

November 24, 2021 (La Mesa) - Roustabouts return to the theatre, bringing much needed laughter, The theatre group returns with For Whom the Southern Belle Tolls, four short one-act plays. Producer and director Phil Johnson, a master of laughter, wanted to add humor for audiences returning to the theatre. He feels, and I agree, that after what everyone has been through, we need to not only laugh but laugh together and we did.


Error message

Support community news in the public interest! As nonprofit news, we rely on donations from the public to fund our reporting -- not special interests. Please donate to sustain East County Magazine's local reporting and/or wildfire alerts at https://www.eastcountymedia.org/donate to help us keep people safe and informed across our region.

LITTLE MERMAID REVIEW - BE A PART OF THE EL CAJON VALLEY HIGH SCHOOL WORLD THROUGH MAY 11

 

 

By Kathy Carpenter, reviewer sdtheatrereviews.com

May 5, 2019 (El Cajon) - More than a few teens can identify with Ariel, The Little Mermaid, who hates her dad because he won't let her do what she really wants to do. Her dad doesn't understand or love her.  The theme is brought to us in fun fairy tale fashion, The Little Mermaid, based on the Disney version and yes, Disney does everything possible to entertain.


Error message

Support community news in the public interest! As nonprofit news, we rely on donations from the public to fund our reporting -- not special interests. Please donate to sustain East County Magazine's local reporting and/or wildfire alerts at https://www.eastcountymedia.org/donate to help us keep people safe and informed across our region.

HELIX HIGHLAND PLAYERS PRESENTED ALMOST MAINE

 

By Kathy Carpenter

Associate/youth reviewer www.sdtheatrereviews.com

November 1, 2016 (La Mesa) - Happiness filled my heart at the sight of a full audience for the Highland players on Thursday night. The production ofAlmost Maine featured romantic, funny, and filled with awe moments. The show has closed, but if you fill the need to support or you did not get your Halloween fix, West Hills High in Santee is doing Zombie Prom this weekend.


Error message

Support community news in the public interest! As nonprofit news, we rely on donations from the public to fund our reporting -- not special interests. Please donate to sustain East County Magazine's local reporting and/or wildfire alerts at https://www.eastcountymedia.org/donate to help us keep people safe and informed across our region.